SimtuCrostines

By SimtuCrostines

The Owl Returns

I'm on a bit of an owl streak. Their stariness does make them good for patterns I think.

This is a page of patterns from wallpapers, fabrics, quilts and pebble mosaics I've been coping and combining together to make a stencil design for our kitchen wall.

I originally had a chain-patterned wallpaper in mind, but my partner found this too evocative of chains in the sense of iron manacles, so I'm trying to keep the geometry of a chain but loosen it up. Then I saw an owl on a lovely William De Morgan tile and had to make him an addition as well.

I'll try a few colour ways to see what level of tonal contrast looks good. Have to make it soft enough that it's not going to scare me if I come in at night!

Watched "La Cité des Enfants Perdus", dir. Marc Caro & Jean-Pierre Jeunet, which I mostly remembered for its ear worm lullaby, and the face of Daniel Emilfork seared into my brain!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.