Auntie Mabel's yucca tree's children

To describe me as a touch obsessed about my yucca plants is an over exaggeration. However, I am inordinately pleased with the fact that the yucca tree (originally purchased in Marks and Spencer because it came with its original tag....) which I inherited from an aunt who died more than 20 years ago (....she also left me a small legacy which bought me my first colour tv and video recording machine....) is still going strong. It had to be severely pruned about three years ago, which produced some cuttings from the stalk. Mr A did his homework, and got them growing - see here, here and here, the latter picture having been taken after they had been separated. In the end, we gave the one on the right in the last picture away and kept the one on the left, and here it is - potted on after getting pot bound in its previous home. We think it might go vaguely crazy in its new large home. It needs some vertical movement, rather than more leaves. Let's see what happens. You can also see the original mother tree on the far left of the picture.

Off to Amsterdam later on. The last overseas academic trip of the academic year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.