BowBelle

By BowBelle

Imperfect Beauty

This rose is not one of mine - it's in my neighbour's garden, close by the fence. It was a firm favourite of my old neighbour's wife and every year on the anniversary of her death he would take a bunch of these roses to place on her grave. Sadly he too died about four years ago now and this rose has to fend for itself as the new occupiers aren't at all interested in the garden. As you can see, this flower is past its best and it has a small aphid army attacking it - which brings me to a very important question:WHERE HAVE ALL THE LADYBIRDS GONE? In previous years I would see hundreds in my garden feeding off these little pests wherever they found them... this year I am yet to see one! Is this the same everywhere? Have they been killed off by the terrible weather as they over-wintered? What's the situation in your gardens?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.