The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Tumulus

The Wolds are dotted with tumuli, and this one at the top of Garrowby Hill is the closest example to the village.  It is a raised mound of earth sat in an arable field, that has a small and symmetrical beech plantation on it.  There is another almost identical one within a mile.  I keep coming back to it hoping for a colourful sunset.  Today's was promising, but there was too much cloud, and it fizzled out without a great show of colour.

This was said to be the warmest day recorded in January in the UK.  It didn't feel like that on top of Garrowby Hill where there was stiff breeze blowing as I was hanging about waiting for the sunset.

It is about 1.3 miles from the house to the top of the Worsendale Road and the high point of Garrowby Hill, and nearly 590 feet of elevation gain.  I can now walk this in 25 minutes if I don't get distracted by highland cows or kites.  This is part of an exercise regime and change of diet to stave off Type 2 diabetes which has been creeping up on me over the last three years.  I'm not overweight, I've always been fit and active (except for the leukaemia episode in 2016/17), so I guess it's another issue, like the leukaemia, of bad genes.  It is possible that the trend in increasing blood sugar started when Gus became too old to manage his pre-breakfast walks over Arnside Knott, and I missed out on my exercise first thing.  There is evidence that exercise before breakfast is beneficial for improved blood sugar control.  I will return to pre-breakfast walks when the mornings are lighter and when we don't need to be here first thing as the builders arrive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.