Travels With 4 Wheel Fred

By HRGibbon

Garden Visit With LHS

One of the first visits of the year, organised by the Longtown Horticultural Society, was to Tinnisburn plants. A private nursery in one of the most stunning locations I've seen. Only one slight problem this evening though... midges!

When we arrived (after a little bit of rallying up the long drive) there was a gentle breeze and all seemed to be well. One of the ladies had brought some Avon "Skin so soft" which is supposed to be great as a midge repellent, so I smeared some on my arms, face and ears. I may as well have been smearing on sugar water for all the good it did. Especially when we'd finished the garden tour and went to look at the plants for sale and the sprinklers in the polytunnel were on.

I was very good and resisted coming home with armfuls of plants, only issue is that the nursery is about 10 minutes from our house....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.