talloplanic views

By Arell

Time to get cardoinated

In the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the galaxy, on an utterly insignificant litle blue green planet, an ape-descended life form who is so amazingly primitive that she still thinks her digital watch is a pretty neat idea and who harbours the notion of keeping a GPS on her handlebars as the stuff of madman's dreams, has found herself out of her tiny mind with the addition of an intercom.

This is quite possibly more techology for biking than I've ever had since I first dared plug a too-fragile HP iPAQ into a cigar socket and felt like I'd just invented the computer.  I joke of course: I'm on my third or fourth iteration of GPS since my first tour in 2008; but it is a truth, too, that in all that time I've ridden in silence, not just to those outside the cosy world of my helmet, which is fine, but to any auditory help my devices might give when navigating that outside world, which is less fine.

Thus now I shall leap headlong into the white heat of technology: the wherewithal not only to listen to my turn by turn directions, but to speak to another person whilst on the move!  Not that I plan to make very many phone calls whilst on the move, because I'm too much of a road safety mind, and I'm also not multi-taskable enough.  But I have heard tell that @BikerBabe has similarly entered this technological age, and a-chattering and a-shunpiking we shall go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.