talloplanic views

By Arell

An instructor calls

Sometimes I can't leave well enough alone, but in this case I think I'm justified.  The hi-viz markings on the back of Fidra's pannier cases were pretty elderly: quite faded, badly torn here and there, spotted with tar and generally long past their best.  In almost every photo I took where you could see them, I Photoshopped out the torn bits!  This week I resolved to replace them with something better, 'better' in this case meaning proper stuff, not your 3M lookalike ooh-that-seems-good-value! cheap rubbish that fades and then peels apart after a year, like I used on my other luggage boxes.  Officially, the red chevrons are sometimes orange, and unlike the red, the yellow is not always meant to be reflective, just fluorescent (unlike Battenburg side markings or Police livery for instance where it's all reflective).

I made paper templates months ago but never took it further.  So it was actually only a day's work to hand cut everything, scrape off the original material, clean up the plastic, and put the new ones on.  I think it looks pretty good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.