MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Grebes But No Weed

I spent a couple of hours at Fishers Green for the first time since May last year when Mishka came to live with us. She is petrified of other dogs and reacts almost uncontrollably, so I haven't been able to take her out and about. I have chosen not to visit nature reserves, preferring to stay at home with Mish.

Today I felt I just had to get away. I left Mishka looking after MrQ. I was hoping to see great crested grebes courting and I wasn't disappointed. I photographed three loved-up pairs preening and mirroring. Unfortunately this did not progress to the weed dance. I've chosen to post the above pair as one of them looks as though it still has its winter plumage, or maybe it's a sub-adult. It is grown up enough to have been making a nest very near the wobbly bridge.

As I was leaving I photographed a spat between a pair of crows and a squirrel in the carpark. Just before I took this image one of the crows was pecking the squirrel. (Extras)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.