OutdoorEd

By OutdoorEd

Thick Dust Clogging the Heat sink

More functional than artistic.

My very aged computer was starting to have its own blips, so I decided to retire it. A quick request on the local Facebook group resulted in something 10 years younger being delivered to me for free, so the first job was to check it.

A glance at the back told me it hadn't seen tlc for ages, and although it had been in regular use, the fan must have been going full blast to stop it from overheating! Dust was baked on everywhere, but soon afterwards it was cleaned and back together for tests and soak testing.

I'm pleased to say that it passed, so my older hard drives are swapped and it's now blipping much faster than its predecessor. It was sluggish with Windows but will fly with Linux for years to come.  :-).

Extras are another before and after.

Thanks for hosting Laurie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.