Marilyn

Friday morning hangs over me, and once again I was reluctant to get up and have a morning run. A late afternoon run was the consequence.

Although the course I chose was very different to that I went on yesterday, I did come up Richmond Road onto Ponsonby Road. This made me very pleased that I chose to blip the thought yesterday. Just 24 hours later what I posted yesterday has been completely removed by person(s) unknown. I am rather pleased that I have given that particular thought a wider audience, at the same time as attempts are being made to blunt the message.

Back along Ponsonby Road, on the way home, I went past this store which was the subject of a blip some four months ago. This rather bizarre collection of odds and ends from the 1950s (retro, I guess) features a book about Marilyn Monroe. Jewellery and lampshades seem unusual bed fellows (or shop-window-fellows).

I note that the last time I blipped this shop, I wrote about seeing a poor man whose mental illness and social needs are not being addressed in a country which prides itself on caring for those who cannot care for themselves. Being back in an inpatient unit for the first time in nearly ten years, I am seeing so many people who deserve more care than they are getting. It is, if anything, worse than when I was there before. My current role is temporary, and I have little opportunity to make any difference. I feel the need to try, nevertheless.

I wonder who tried for Marilyn. She was a gifted comedian, whose desperate sadness appears to have not been responded to by those who knew her. Instead powerful men took advantage of her need. Does anything ever really change?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.