Living my dream

By Mima

Lift off by the Bouncing Bean

"Is that a treat? Is it? Is it? Am I going to get it? Am I? Am I?"

(Thank goodness she can't speak, but in this instance there is absolutely no need: I know exactly what's going through that brain.)

Extra 1 Stretching for it, eyes on the prize.
Extra 2 Leaping out of shot so fast that all except her hind quarters are a blur.

I take a few treats in my pocket on our walks in case bribery is needed, or as a reward for extra-good behaviour. If there are any left at the end of the walk, I throw them onto the grass for Bean to enjoy. This is that moment, as I pull the treats from my pocket and then chuck them into the air. 

It was a lovely couple of days with L here. We spend time together maybe once a year, and yet - as with all good friendships - we pick up where we left off each time. Two days is enough for both of us (we are both introverted hermits), so we now get back into our respective routines again, and look forward to our next get-together.

She arrived with dog treats, fudge, honey, fig preserves and olives in truffle oil (which I discover is not to my taste). She left with plums, two varieties of beans, blackcurrants, redcurrants, four lumps of cheese, and a homemade wasp trap.

As usual, good exchanges.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.