Musing of a Lady

By inkstainedhands

Oudewater Carnival

Today, carnival is taking place. Its basically a large street party where everyone has gotten dressed up in some rather interesting get ups and then gotten drunk. We went for a walk to see the floats come by. The floats were pulled by tractors and Little Man loves tractors. We spent ages watching them. It's the third carnival that I've been to, and the third one I've stayed sober through. In 2012 I was on my  my Disciplineship Training School DTS outreach (with Youth With A Mission YWAM) in Rio De Janeiro, Brazil and we were talking to people about Jesus. I think there were over 250 people all wearing red shirts. I felt so safe. Then in 2014 I was on the streets during the Notting Hill Carnival, again with YWAM, but that time I felt very unsafe and was glad when it was done. Today marks my third carnival and the first I haven't been talking to people about Jesus. I was there to enjoy it and make sure Little Man enjoyed it too. It was safe to say that he did. He didn't want to come home.

Talking about YWAM, I had a friend come round this morning. We did our DTS together back in 2012 and have stayed in touch ever since. It was great seeing him and introducing Little Man to him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.