SimtuCrostines

By SimtuCrostines

Jewellery Quarter

I'm heading off to Stoke and Birmingham in a couple of days, so I spent some time planning the trip. There are lots of good illustrated maps to help with exploring the city, so I've copied the street pattern of the Jewellery Quarter from one of these.

I'm excited to see the canals and old brick-built areas, and to ride the tram and visit some galleries. It'll be interesting to see how the centre is being redeveloped. I always enjoy peering into building sites, and on satellite images you can see the patchwork of demolished sites. The earth itself appears a light brick red, which is very unlike Kent.

Around Stoke, my plan is to visit pottery museums, admire some bottle kilns, prepare myself for dreariness, be pleasantly surprised if it turns out to be sunny, and to visit my grandma in Newcastle-under-Lyme.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.