Greenstead

By Greenstead

Sedbergh Bookclub

Today I had the Sedbergh Bookclub at my house. We were discussing Three Sisters, Three Queens by Philippa Gregory this month. It was told by Margaret Tudor, sister of Henry VIII. The two other sisters were Mary Tudor and Catherine of Aragon was their Sister in Law. Margaret became Queen of Scotland, Mary, Queen of France and Catherine, Queen of England Whilst the things that happened are true, the story is the author’s version. They were mostly spoilt and self obsessed, but it was an interesting look at the role of women in the 16th Century. You can probably tell it wasn’t given a very good score by me, but some of the group loved it. There was a lot of interesting historical information, did you know Henry was married to Catherine for 25 years and (although not covered in the book), the other 5 wives only covered about 12 years. Henry himself is also portrayed very unfavourably. So I disliked the main characters, but it was fascinating enough for me to look up additional information not covered in the book. Does that make it a good read. I’ll let you decide. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.