Looking for the Holmr?

Well actually that's easy. There are lots of Holmrs (or hills) round here. And these two just walked over the Bekkr (or stream).

This is an art installation called Watchtree by Robyn Woolston. It's part of a visual art project and exhibition in trees and woodland across the Eden district throughout 2013. Now I was quite impressed with the Woollen Woods. I didn't quite see the point, but it was rather nice and delighted a lot of people. And Butterflies in a Chestnut Tree was quite pretty. But I have to admit to being baffled by this.

It is made up of 12 aluminium signs attached to trees in a grove by the shores of Ullswater. Each sign points outwards towards the surrounding natural features. The words are apparently in Old Norse, Brthonic, Anglo-Norman and Middle English. The artists suggests that 'their meanings can be found in the surrounding mountains, rivers, rocks and language.'

Now it's good to see these kind of installations, but I honestly don't see the point of this. Perhaps it doesn't have to have a point. Or perhaps I am missing something deeply meaningful. I wait to be enlightened.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.