biddy

By biddy

E.B. Old friends.

I painted this picture after we had all met up in our old childhood haunts in the Woodcroft area of the Rossendale Valley in Lancashire.
We were all at Primary School together
It was June 2008 and I was in Rawtenstall visiting my dad for a week.
Maureen, the one in the middle, had driven over to see her brother, She was living in Barrow-inFurness then.
They all came to see dad, who loved meeting up with them.
Afterwards we went for a walk along the field paths on the hillside at the back of our steep streets of terraced houses. That’s where I took the photo from which I did the painting,
It was a memorable day retracing our childhood haunts.
We had all roamed over those hills,
I had some prints made and sent one to each of them.
Sadly Maureen died a few years afterwards having contracted an aggressive kind of Alzheimer’s.
But each time I see it on the wall it brings back all those good childhood days.
We’ve had all the four grandchildren here to tea today,
They are now 12, 11, then the younger two will be 8 and 5 early next month.
We are now winding down!
Hence the E.B.
I’ll catch up with your blips tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.