MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Wokka Wokka

I was on my hands and knees scrubbing when I heard the unmistakable, very loud, wokka wokka sound of a Chinook approaching. I cast the bowl aside and Mishka and I rushed out into the garden, grabbing the camera on the way. I managed a few shots before it disappeared behind the glasshouses. 

I was interested to read that three of Japan's Chinooks were used to cool the reactors of the Fukushima nuclear power plant after damage caused by the earthquake in 2011. They collected sea water and dropped it over the affected areas. Because of the radiation hazard, lead floors were fitted to the aircraft to protect the crews.

These iconic helicopters have always been used for medical evacuation, disaster relief, search and rescue, aircraft recovery, fire fighting and heavy construction.

   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.