The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

A taste of the east, in the east end of Stroud

(Back story: a friend wanted me to have a 60th birthday party. I was not bothered. One day, I was passing my.local.pub, having recently returned from India, when I saw a window display for the curry lounge, a regular event hosted there mid-week. I texted the publican and asked if they could do a South Indian curry. The publican replied that he was in Mexico, but that his chef could do a Sri Lankan curry  - chicken or veg -  on 21st Feb. I invited nine people. Eight of them turned up).

A great meal  was had by all of us at the Crown and Sceptre on Horns Road. The food surpassed our expectations, and we all mingled, and strangers became acquainted. Some of us would like to do it again (not necessarily in a large group) but, as someone said, 'you've raised the bar for Wednesday night supper '. 

I've chosen the fabric of a top that I bought in India, which I haven't worn yet, and a flannel shirt conveniently hanging next to it, to symbolise the fusion of East and West in my above-average Wednesday night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.