Living my dream

By Mima

Look into my eyes

Bean has spent much of the day snoozing in the sun. It has been another perfect day for snoozing, and for working in the garden: low 20s and a light breeze.

The main tasks today have been to clear the plants and dismantle the supports in the broadbean and the pea beds. I have collected seed for next season and the old plants are now on the compost. 

It is terribly dry, so not only am I watering veg beds, but also a large area of ex-lawn into which I planted trees in late 2021. Several of them are showing signs of stress, so action is needed. I shall water it regularly until the soil moisture levels change from dust to damp. It will take a couple of weeks I expect.

And I need to keep an eye on all the other trees on the property. If this dry continues much longer- and I'm not alert - there will be casualties. 

It is the driest it's been for three years. And there is no rain of any significance forecast in the next 10 days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.