Bow of the Markgraaf

We dived the SMS Markgraaf this morning, a massive battleship of the WWI German Fleet. She is huge! We went down the bow shotline and followed the enormous anchor chain to the seabed, then swam forward to the bow.

Had I been able to use my poor defunct slr, I would now be showing you a fabulous shot of the bow, however since that wasn't an option I have this rather grainy image of the bow and B alongside. Not so bad for a point and shoot, in ambient light at 44.8m - how I miss my D70s, sob . . .

We swam back along the gun run at 39m and spotted 5 or the 7 5.9in guns before an O2 cell gave out on B's rebreather and we decided to come up the stern shotline. At 10m we met the buoy and had to put up and surface marker buoy before we finished our decompression and surfaced. Quite exciting, but a rubbish photo :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.