Karl Marx

Although the conference itself was being held in one of the Corvinus University's bland (and wifi-less) modern buildings (when I say wifi-less, I mean that it doesn't have eduroam which **every** University in Europe has these days, including the Eotvos Lorand University whose buildings are sufficiently close to my hotel room that I can actually pick up the signal - as a result, massive 3g bill today....), I went in search of the man himself this morning. The man being Karl Marx, of course, after whom this university was named between 1953 and 1990. I wonder why the current regime hasn't kicked out the statue. It wasn't where I remembered it as being from a previous visit around about 2003 or 2004, but that was probably a malfunction of my memory rather than Mr Marx having picked up his chair and walked.

A rather livelier conference than I expected today, with quite a bit of controversy and debate in a good way.

An early start in the morning, to get a 0615 flight back to Amsterdam and onwards to Edinburgh. All in aid of getting back to have a couple of meetings in the afternoon. Oh joys. But probably I'll be home in time to see whether Mr Murray can make it through to the fourth round. I do hope so.

Right. That was the last conference travel of the 2012-2013 academic year. One more conference in Edinburgh on Saturday (whoops, don't think I've told Mr A that) and a trip to London for a course, but that's it now until late August.

Countdown to holidays!

Backblip for yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.