Still Rockin'

By RockArea

The Road to the Isles

I enjoyed the journey today. We set off at about 9 o'clock and soon passed through Invergarry where I lived as a child, passing my first primary school which I remember fondly although I'm sure it's changed a lot since those days. We stopped for a coffee at Eilean Donan Castle and it would be rude not to take a picture although I have many more. The light was good so it's my main blip. The first extra is the Commando Monument. I think they've tarted it up a bit since I last stopped here and it does look very tidy without taking away from the gravity of the monument and its surroundings.

We were soon over the bridge and onto Skye and we made a stop at Sligachan for the Old Bridge. It was good to see the monument to John Mackenzie and Norman Collie, two renowned climbers which has been erected since I was last here. Like the Commando Monument, It fits very well in its place.

After checking in to our hotel we drove up the east side of the Troternish peninsula and took a quick look at the Quirang and we'll probably take a trip back there tomorrow.

Our major frustration is that there's a Red Alert for the aurora but the cloud cover is solid over Skye. I hope you might get to see it where you are. We'll be hoping for another night and having a clear sky. With the forecast it's possible.

The final image is the view from my room looking out over Portree Harbour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.