A day in the life

By Shelling

Choices

After a lovely lunch together with Celia in my home, I drove her to the train station in Kalmar. We had time for a coffee at "Kultzenska caféet" before her train took her to Malmö. I enjoyed having a few hours together. Forty years ago we met at the university of Lund where we both studied music, specifically guitar, she with the aim towards a solo career, me with the ambition of being a teacher. Now we met again with our careers behind us, she is a little bitter over her tough life, constantly "selling herself"  on the competitive soloist market, which is not easy. I feel rather content with my choices through life, my struggles has been of a different nature and it seems my network is a lot bigger than hers. Maybe I have had time to develop the contact with the people I've met, she has been on her way somewhere else constantly. Our journey continues, still on separate tracks.

I had a walk along the coast of Kalmar before going home and my turning back point became this out of season jump-tower at one of the public baths. I thought I could use it as a metaphor for the various choices through life, but I won't.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.