fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

"T"

This is my dear friend I'll just call "T". Her partner of many years died of pancreatic cancer about six years ago come fall. She helped raise her partner's children and grandson. After her partner passed, T got guardianship of the grandson and has done a magnificent job of raising him and getting his needs met. He has Asperger's a high functioning form of Autism. T fought the powers that be to get him all the school aid and help and monies she could . She faithfully took him to counseling and now with one year left in high school he is preparing to go on to college!!! She has obtained complete funding and found a college here that has a special Autism program too. Not the greatest shot of her, but I felt worthy to post because some great news happened this week and I know it pleased T so very much! the U. S. Supreme Court ruled that D.O.M.A. ( the defense of marriage act) was unconstitutional meaning marriage equality at last for states passing it. Also they knocked down proposition 8 in California which had denied the marriage rights for all that Ca. had previously passed. T hadn't heard the news when I called her and it made her day. Tiny steps toward equality!!! My son made a special CD of celebratory songs in honor of these rulings!!! Made me happy too:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.