SoozaDay

By soozaday

The Wedding

Here are the bride and groom, flanked by her brother (left) and his brother. It turned out to be a lovely sunny day, it was a moving ceremony, a fine party and a huge wonderful gathering of families and friends. A reunion of sorts, with some folks I haven’t seen in decades—kids grown up, young men matured, young women with babies. I think we were the oldest people there (we usually are…) but luckily there wasn’t an award for that. The prize was to see our granddaughter sparkle and to be there to take part in their hope for their future. 

I’m including parts of my son’s father/daughter speech:

…I don’t know if any other parents feel the same way, but I was not ready to be a parent. I believe, as parents, we don’t choose when our kids are born. They pick us and the time and place when they enter this world. We have to become ready whether we think we are equipped for the job or not. The rest of parenting is simply being present, praying that we’ve prepared them enough for independence in the world. Having kids is a process of trust and letting go…. 

I have learned that letting go doesn’t mean I am no longer responsible for my daughter. It means I am lucky enough to have a person to help share the responsibility. I have told J that I am not losing my daughter, I am gaining a son. Today (we all) watch with pride as our families grow together.

My kids have taught me how to live. If (my son) is my strength, then (my daughter) has always been my hope. Today, with J’s courage, hope grows. I can’t wait to see what comes next.

III John Verse 4: I have no greater joy than to know that my children walk in the truth.

Our children don’t fully comprehend, but when they are living the good life and making good decisions, they give us the gift of God.


There is a photo in the Extras of a ring around the sun, taken earlier in the day. This kind of formation is somewhat rare and I like to think it was a good omen for L & J as they begin their marriage. The other Extra is father, daughter, groom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.