A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Sweetowl

A trip to the Royal Highland Show for us. I haven't been before and so thought it was about time. I enjoyed seeing the animals and machinery but I don't think I will go again. It was just far too big. It took such a long time to get anywhere and I didn't have a hope of seeing any of the classes I might have wanted to see. I will stick with smaller shows in future I think!

One of the things we managed to find after tramping round and round for a while was the falconry display. To my great joy, they flew a vulture (I love vultures) but unfortunately it was raining by then so although I got to enjoy watching him fly before he got taken away to dry off, I wasn't really able to get any good photographs of a black vulture in the rain with a blinding white tent in the background! He was very new to the centre, only 8 days and was still in training but he was able to come out and fly anyway even though he was new and it was raining because vultures are great.

This adorable owl was very photogenic though. He would often run across the grass rather than flying and was very sweet. Sorry, I can't remember what kind he is but it was an Indian something.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.