JustBrian

By justbrian

Enjoying the view

Today the weather in the Lake District was much better, A and I had a trip on the Ullswater steamer, but prior to boarding we had a walk from Glenridding to Howtown, a distance of 7 miles and possibly too far for A. She had sore feet and had to bathe them in the gently lapping waters of the lake whilst we waited for the boat to take us to Pooley Bridge.

The weather was quite humid and I think that contributed to A's discomfort as well as the sore feet.

I took quite a lot of photographs but settled for this, taken on the return leg to Glenridding, the elderly couple seen here in the photograph were probably in their seventies but were enjoying the bracing air and let me tell you it was bracing sitting where they were.

A retreated to inside and I wandered about looking in awe at the fells and mountains,this was one of the first places I ever visited when I was a child, the scenery is stunning and whilst the weather wasn't perfect there was some lovely light on the hills.

Tonight we're staying in a beautiful guest house in Bassenthwaite and we're off for a meal in Braithwaite.

We have a key to get back in past the witching hour and here's a great wifi signal.

Well done to the Aussies today for getting one over on the Lions, it makes for a great final game.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.