Living my dream

By Mima

Poached pears and Stilton

That's what I've made today.

The pears are ready to eat today. The Stilton will be ready at the end of July. So I shan't be eating them together.

Stilton is the cheese which I've been working my way up to since I started this adventure. It has always been my goal to gain enough experience, skill and confidence to make what I consider to be the tastiest of all cheeses. 

And here I am. I feel like a real cheesemaker at last. The Stilton is currently draining, before it goes into a mould tomorrow and then gradually matures in the cheese cave, and the penicillium roqueforti does its business.

We missed a frost last night by 1 degree. And I heard that the gardens just 500m down the road in the bottom of the valley were rimed white at dawn. Their beans and cucurbits were wiped out. Phew... It gets warmer again now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.