Van Gend en Loos

This really is one for my memory bank. I went to a conference today in the Playfair Library. It was really something for EU law anoraks - a meeting to discuss the 50th anniversary of what has always been assumed to be one of the formative cases of the European Court of Justice. This was a presentation by the Vice President of the ECJ, but what is interesting for me is the person on the left. She's a retired professor of EU law from London, but what was interesting was that in her youth (she was coy about just how young she was) she was an interpreter in the Court of Justice when this case was decided and had the opportunity to interpret when the Advocate General delivered his Opinion. It was really interesting - in 2013 - to have this direct connection in the room to events that happened in 1963.

As I said - this was one for me and for the anoraks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.