madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Keys

My neighbour had another key emergency today! She has a new car and after work was putting things n her boot and inadvertently shut it with her keys inside! So Oscar and I did a mercy dash with her spare key to Liskeard! It's a good thing she never locks her front door! It's a simple route approx 30 mins. On the way at St Ive I noticed a rather grand house I'd never noticed before. On the way back I stopped and photographed it. There were 2 people entering it and I wondered if it was up for sale as the grounds had obviously been newly done. 
I looked up properties but couldn't find it so looked on Google maps and found the name Emily Hobhouse. Apparently it was her childhood home known as The Chantry. She was an amazing woman who publicised and campaigned against the concentration camps of the Boer women and children according to the British Governments " Scorched earth" policy. The parallel with what Israel is doing in Gaza shows how little we have developed since.You can read more about her here.
She was never recognised for her work by the Government to this day and The Chantry is being developed as a museum of her life with a kitchen garden and restaurant by South African backers who revere her for all she did for them. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.