Cygnus

By Cygnus

Puzzling pear

My final watercolour class for this session, I decided just to go for it regarding pigment saturation. My usual style is to paint in very dilute colours! The trouble was that I got a hair from my paintbrush down in the lower green bit of the pear. I kept painting over it to try to minimise its effect, as I wasn’t able to pick it off. I can still see the flipping thing.

Eventually I went back over the dark green (definitely not a natural pear colour) and removed as much as I could with a clean, wet brush. When dry I’d planned to glaze over it in a paler apple green, but now that I’ve looked at it I might just leave well alone! You can see an outline of the dark green I removed along the lower left.

I usually leave the background white, but I tried to do a darker one so that the pear stood out a bit.

It will be another two months before the art classes are offered again, so I think I might aim to get a bit more practicing done!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.