Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

bitter sweet

I drove down to North Berwick today for a friends memorial service. Alex died two weeks ago, he was 95 and a retired priest who I first met over 30 years ago through Cursillo. He and his wife Anne were married 67 years, they retired to North Berwick from Haddington when he finished his formal ministry.
It's hard to express what a special man he was to many people. Today's service was full of people I knew, from the clergy involved in the service (one of whom is a blipper) to those in attendance - many of whom had travelled long distances, including bussing it from Aberdeen and the Borders.
Alex had written the service himself and as well as scripture had included poetry. The eulogy was given by another of our friends, George, a good friend of Alex for over 38 years. Like blipper Blethers, they had both been members of the Fahrters - (from the German roughly translated as those who go on drives, or trips). As might have been expected the music was well chosen and well sung. Alex had the most wonderful voice, both speaking and singing. I'll miss his rich tones in our gatherings.
I drove some friends down and back so there was lots of laughter and much reminiscence in the car.
When I got home, it was still warm and I popped out into the garden for some quiet time, to see what was going on and to check whether or not it had self weeded yet - it hadn't!
My pink camellia is covered in flowers and probably about at its best, the red in the collage is one my sister gave us for our ruby wedding almost 9 years ago.
The other, under my hosta, is clearly the entrance to some small creature's home. Most likely field mice, as we often used to see them
I don't mind so long as they stay in the garden and don't venture into the house like they did a few years ago. We now keep all the bushes and trees in the hedge well pruned back, as they used to climb up then transfer onto our roof and in! Not anymore, once we worked out what was going on.
The extra is a picture of Alex as a young priest, not as I remember him though. I'll miss him as a friend and wise counsellor, but not so much as his lovely wife and family will.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.