Look Out

By chrisf

Teal

I spent much of the day at nearby Leighton Moss. Bitterns were “booming” (the name for their “song”), the marsh harriers were “ skydancing” (the name for their courtship display), and there were many other signs that it is Spring and life is responding.

I tried photographing harriers skydancing, but found it impossible to focus, they are just too quick. An example is in the extras - a male trying to impress a nearby female with some quick twirling. So I’ve settled for a drake teal for today’s image, close up the plumage is in my eyes quite beautiful.

There must have been well over a hundred children at the site today, ranging from primary school to teens. I was trying to focus on a marsh tit as one group passed, and a teacher apologised for the group being noisy. I told her it didn’t bother me at all, it’s great to see kids out enjoying nature and having fun. It’s how it should be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.