Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Embroidery

First of all, I must thank you all from the bottom of my heart for your kind words, good wishes, sensible advice and concern since Mum died. You are wonderful friends.

I’m sorry that I can’t answer you all individually.

Today began with a visit to the registrar in Hexham. I was taken through the whole process by a very pleasant man who loves his job. He made it easy.

I set off and walked to the bank, but it had disappeared! Barclays has closed and there is an office in the Leisure Centre. How bizarre.

I drove there and eventually found a tiny, dingy office beside the bowling alley. The banker was excellent. Full of good advice about Mum’s account and about grief.

Then to the other Marjorie’s for coffee and chat. She had an epidural injection last week and can stand tall for the first time in ages. Brilliant.

Liz and Kate came for an afternoon walk. We walked along the road above the river North Tyne. There are not many wild flowers out, but plenty of lichens. My photos were rubbish.

Then Lesley came, especially to give me a hug.

Finally, Margret (next door) came for a meal with me. We had fish pie and lemon tart courtesy of BJ (see yesterday)

This blip is one of Mum’s early pieces of creative embroidery. I have always loved it.

Julie sent me a message about things she learned whilst caring for Mum. One was to know about haikus. She wrote one today:

Spring is almost here
A loved one is leaving us
The season changes

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.