analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Get A Grip. Lumix M4/3 14mm

For some months, I have been mulling how to solve the problem of inadvertently pressing the wrong buttons on my Panasonic GX9 while focusing and framing pictures.  I bought the camera about two years ago, and have only the highest praise for this amazing machine.  It's bigger and chunkier than the little GX1s with which I started my digital photographic life, yet feels so good and substantial in the hand.  The only issue I have is how many controls the designers crammed into so little real estate.  
I looked at third-party slings through which one would slip three fingers of the right hand  to stabilize the camera, but that means sacrificing the neck strap; I'll never do that.  A few days ago, I was window shopping over at a great used camera site at which I've bought a ton of equipment over the years.   And there was Panasonic's optional hand grip for the GX9.  Not too much money, mates with the camera flawlessly, and most important, gives me something substantial to hang onto with my right hand, and stay away from the buttons on the back of the camera.
In passing, I'll mention that Panasonic seems to have abandoned the Micro 4/3 platform which they helped pioneer.  The GX9 seems to be the last iteration of the line, and the prices have gone up substantially since I bought mine.  People really like them, and are clamoring for more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.