Silently calling

Much more leisurely start to the day today than yesterday. I did come out of the bedroom in time to see the sunrise from the deck, and admired it without the need to be taking a photograph; especially after yesterday's blip.

I was about to head out for a run when I noticed a band of rain heading towards us from across the bay. So I sat and read a chapter of the detective novel I have just started. Rain passed, i went out. Knowing the tide would be a long way out, I put on an old pair of shoes and did a circuit on the road to Algies Bay, and then around the foreshore (including along our beach) to Snells Beach, then back on the roads past the dairy to collect the Sunday newspaper.

I took the Pentax with the telephoto lens. Not the easiest to carry while running, but it worked out okay, even when I had the paper. I was really glad I had it, when I was on our beach. On a rocky outcrop about 50 m out from where the water's edge was, I saw a kawaupaka (shag). I got as close to it as I could, taking shots with its head at different angles.

My choice of them all was this with it appearing to call out, although no sound was heard by me. I have left the image exactly as it came from the camera onto the computer. No cropping. No changes to shadows or exposure. Just as is.

Worth seeing large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.