Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By cdsvfdcs

OLD making ART

It was an effort to drag myself away to go downtown to see some art, much as I knew we’d be glad we did!  Wanted to see the huge platters that are a year long lunchtime collaboration of 3 artists  (2 are represented with paintings on my wall) at the home of LIz Sandvig , my 86 year old friend, an inspiration as she keeps making art in different media.  Been a long time since we visited that  gallery but also enjoyed seeing the glassworks there by other artists we know of.   (Preston Singletary,  Dante Marioni, and Lino Tagliapietra)   
Then saw the currant exhibit at the Seattle Art Museum across the street.   Which was huge.   Jaune  Quick To See Smith, a native artist from this region, (who I knew nothing about!) was born in 1940 so almost as old and still making important art about America, social justice, and the environment, using lots of old an contemporary materials and symbols…I particularly liked all the “Trade canoes”.     Check out the very short video and bio if you have time .  
And before we left, we ordered some take out food from their excellent cafe for dinner tonight for our 3rd celebrated octogenarian of the day..next door neighbor living alone who is recovering from some minor surgery.  I’ve just spared him some of my mundane cooking…for some great clam chowder and lobster roll.
We needed a nap in between.    :-)     Just couldn't decide on one photo so you get a collage...
A few more plates in extra.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.