Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Finally

It's Palm Sunday today so a rather longer service as we start in the hall and bless the palm crosses before processing over to the church. The sermon is replaced by the Passion narrative read by different voices. This year is the turn of Marks Gospel so it's rather shorter.
When we got home, after lunch, I finally made it into the garden. It was warm in the sunshine. I started by finally getting the standard roses pruned . Colin came out to join me and pruned the apple and pear trees.
I decided to head into the vegetable corner next and cut out all the old raspberry canes. I also took about three feet off the tops of the ones which are left. They don't seem to mind and it keeps them a reasonable height and less leggy at the top. Next I dug over the veg bed removing the raspberry suckers as I went. I dug in the old compost from the crates in which I'd grown beans and peas as well, so it all looks much better and ready for when it's time to start planting out. Found a couple of small potatoes as I was digging. They must date from two years ago as I didn't grow any last year .
I'm so pleased to have finally got started in the garden I've been putting it off for ages. I've done about a sixth of the bed area, but the rest are flower beds and don't need so much digging - more weeding and the removal of last year's growth as well as clearing the ground around the perennials. The peonies and delphiniums are already well on their way.
It's been a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.