Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Our Future Health

I got a letter a few weeks ago inviting me to join an NHS programme focused on 'Our Future health'. It is a scheme to help researchers find new ways of detecting, treating and preventing diseases such as cancer, diabetes, stroke, heart disease and Alzheimer's/Dementia.

Today I visited this mobile unit for some simple tests including height, weight, and cholesterol, as well as a blood sample taken which will be used by the researchers.  I've recently been put on statins as part of a public health campaign, mainly because I was diagnosed with high blood pressure and have a family history of heart disease.  I did question why, as previous tests show my cholesterol to be within normal range, and I was gratified to find from the testing that it was still below 4 for total cholesterol and the 'good' and 'bad' cholesterol are still within the ideal ranges.

Other than that it seemed to be the best day's weather for the week and I managed to get a swim in and walk 9 miles (some in the company of my cousin), so at least I am maintaining my exercise routine.

If you want to join in the research in the UK the details are in the extra image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.