Ingleman

By Ingleman

Rooted Out

Being unable to drive (yet) my walks from the house are limited. I have done much the same two routes for the last five weeks other than when I have been out with Mrs I in the car.

I see the same views and same hedges and trees and sheep every day. But today I tried to take notice of things rather than just see them.

Like this enormous tree which was brought down recently in a storm.

I have walked passed it dozens of times and thought nothing of it.

Today I took notice of the huge size and weight. It must have been sixty or seventy feet high. The trunk must be fifteen or twenty feet in circumference. The largest bough has left an enormous crater where it fell. (main and extra)

It must have come down with a momentous crash.

I felt a sense of poignancy for yet another lost tree. It would have been majestic in life.

It made me think of some stricken prehistoric beast, having breathed it's last.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.