Melisseus

By Melisseus

Spangled

One of those moments of magic that spring can bring. After yet another deluge, a brief space in the cloud, a low, intense light at just the right angle, and the birch tree was suddenly bejewelled in front of the dark roof. (Zoom in to see sparkling rainbow colours). A fair payback, I felt, after trudging across the orchard from the apiary, tightening my collar against the hail that was finding ways down my neck

I couldn't bring much to the bees except sympathy, but felt I should drop in, as I won't see them for almost a week. I peeped briefly under the roof to offer solidarity. A couple were outside, chafing against the dark sky, brisk wind and 3.5C temperature

MrsM planted the extra in the orchard a fair few years ago, and is always delighted when they reappear - a photo is a bit of an annual ritual. I tried to get some of the profusion of frothy blackthorn in the background - it, at least, seems to have enjoyed winter and spring and put on an impressive show. Damson is just a domesticated blackthorn, really, and is similarly bedecked. Envisioning plump, ripe fruit with a delicate bloom of yeast on the surface took some effort today. The tree has more confidence than me

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.