Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Old Bill the Bromeliad

Or Billbergia pyramidalis if you want to know it's scientific name.  A type of bromeliad that is really easy to grow and has these stunning torch like flowers.  This was flowering at the foot of my front steps.  Thanks for hosting Anni.

Today hasn't gone as well as I wanted it to.  It took longer to finish off my work from yesterday and so I haven't achieved what I had planned.  Hey ho.
Packing has got as far as putting things on the spare bed so I can do a final cut of what I am taking.  I need to do a quick tidy up of the garden tomorrow morning (raining this morning put paid to that plan) some final shopping (yes I have left that very late but having Good Friday in the mix doesn't help when you decide you need something else and can't go earlier because of work, hot water heaters blowing up, visiting duties and a lack of puff in your coffee machine) and then there will be a final tidy up of the house.

It will be then dropping Maggy off in the evening to T and R's and heading down to Sydney.   Our flight leaves on Sunday morning and we are meeting up at B and P's house in Stanmore and going to the airport from there.  There are six of us travelling together, long time friends we are.   Many years ago we were nicknamed 'The Gang of Six'.  Two more sleeps :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.