Scribbler

By scribbler

New Deacon

Episcopal deacon Mary Anne (ordained yesterday) after preaching her first sermon as a member of the clergy.

SURPRISE! (DDW challenge)

I got to know Mary Anne through my art. She was interested in the drawings I used to make during church services and often asked to see them. When she preached her first sermon in seminary, she handed out paper and crayons and invited her congregation of fellow seminarians to draw while she preached. Then she asked them if she could borrow their drawings to show me. I was touched to see that my private art-making had borne seeds that might take root in other places, and I was grateful for the trouble Mary Anne had taken to acknowledge the source of her inspiration.

As she progressed through seminary, and afterward while she worked as a hospice chaplain, Mary Anne and I would sometimes have long conversations. She seemed engrossed in her hospice ministry, and I thought she was just the kind person I would like to have by my side in such circumstances. I wasn't aware that her vocation extended beyond this.

Thus I was surprised to learn, in recent weeks, that Mary Anne was not only about to be ordained a deacon, but was also expecting to go on to become a priest. If her performance today in the pulpit and at the altar is any indication, this cathedral congregation will be eager to bless her onward call. She is a surprisingly gifted preacher. In fact, as she returned to her place from the pulpit she was treated to a round of applause. This is as surprising in an Episcopal church as applause in the middle of a symphony!

This photo was chosen, out of several taken in a crowded and ill-lit space, because it shows the kind of devoted concentration Mary Anne focuses on the person she is interacting with. This practice of listening, which served her well as a chaplain, will continue to be a help to those who need her ministry.


HUNGRY (TerriG challenge)

I tried to do this a month ago, but I wasn't hungry enough. Now I am.

Much as I have enjoyed the fun and fellowship of challenges, it is time for me to discover more of who I am as a photographer and what use I can best make of a photographic journal.

Today I revisited the Julio Mitchel photography exhibit, Do You Love Me?, on its final day at the Blue Sky Gallery. I was once again inspired by Mitchel's intention to continue this series "as long as he lives." As an artist, I believe in the power of working in a series. Blipfoto challenges, and in particular the added fun of double challenges, have worked in that way for me. I'm delighted to have enticed some of you to join me! I also liked the challenges for their inspiration to try things I might not otherwise have considered. In these early days, that was quite valuable. But in the end, these series are not mine.

I am hungry to find my own path within this space. I'm also eager to see more of your work as your own path develops. Thank you for your company on the road!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.