Rainy Day in Oregon

By jerispics

The BIG City

Fortunately we don't have to go to Portland very often. Usually we can send one of the employees there to get parts instead of hubby or I. Well, everyone we could send was out of town for the weekend so we had to go. We found the parts place easy enough on Swan Island, but it was the wrong place! They were closed! We got on the phone and called the number we had and were told we needed to be at a different place. So the guy was giving the directions to me and hubby was driving. Well I told him to go the wrong way on a one way street because I mis-understood (that's my story and I'm sticking to it) the way the guy told us to go. So hubby made a u-turn in the middle of the street (good thing there was no traffic). Then we couldn't see the street sign because of some tree branches so we went beyond the left turn we were supposed to make so hubby 'improvised' and we turned left. Still no traffic, just a pedestrian who, I'm sure, knew we were from out of town. We had Country Bumpkin written all over us. The parts guy told us how to 'get out of town' and we went for it. Very easy directions. Except the the navigator (which was me) failed to tell the driver that he couldn't stay in the lane he was in to get back to I-5. So off across this beautiful bridge we went. Portland truly is a city of bridges. We were able to stay on this route and get back to I-5 without any probs though so the navigator was forgiven.
Phew!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.