secret garden

By freespiral

Tobar Críosta

Of course another well, or two, were investigated whilst in Kerry. This one I was thrilled to get to for the previous time I had visited I had gone the long and seriously torturous route wearing only my flipflops and had only been able to gaze from afar it was so wet. This time I had plan B and my wellies - which was very fortunate for it  was incredibly waterlogged. You see that tree trunk - well, yes, I teetered across through the bog to get to the well. The wellhouse was covered in a thick blanket of mossiness, an ecosystem in itself, and I couldn't even see where the opening to the well itself was though the water was flowing out vigorously. All the flags were emerging bright green and the trees were dense and damp. Look very carefully, and you can see a small blue cup in the tree to the right, so someone else had been in the not too distant past. 
Tobar Críosta, possibly Christ's Well, though maybe also dedicated to St Brigid. Visited Good Friday and yes,  there should be  a blessed trout within!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.