Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Big shot pot shot

I need a good title for this one. I thought maybe I’d spotted a bug photographer, but it turned out he was shooting some Big Shot (I didn’t recognize the guy, but he was wearing an expensive-looking suit, holding a glass of wine, and had the look of someone who knows he’s being looked at) in the art gallery just beyond the bush. Same situation for MOLOH and a certain first minister this morning.

I don’t know if other towns have kept the parking-area outdoor seating enclosures that developed during Covid, but Portland certainly has. Behind the photographer is one such. 

The handsome fellow is shooting his Big Shot in light rain outside a gallery on NW 21st Avenue, my One Street.

Madame Ripitup suggested yesterday that it is time for me to post another One Street photo, a community project I proposed back in 2012, based on a book by Ursula LeGuin (who wrote the poetry) and Roger Dorband (who made the photographs) that documented Thurman Street, in Portland. For a while it caught on and a great many people were documenting One Street in their home towns. Not many wrote poetry, but a few did some stunning research that amounted to archival material in my opinion. I wrote a letter about the project to Ursula LeGuin and presented it to her in 2013 when she was giving a reading at Powell’s. She didn’t write back, but when I spoke with her about it, she looked very pleased and said she thought it was a wonderful idea. She died in 2018. 

Among those who are still working on the project is Ripitup, and if you search Blip for #OneStreet, you’ll find fifty pages of entries, including ones by her and by blippers in the UK, New Zealand, USA, Spain, and other places. You can find each person’s work if you search, for example, @BoHingles#OneStreet. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.