Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

A day in the countryside

My brother picked me up this morning and we then collected my nephew Dave and we set off to see the Ash aqueduct near Aldershot, built in 1994 to carry the Basingstoke Canal over the A331. On the way we popped into the Military Cemetery at Aldershot where there are so many graves of First World War soldiers. On one memorial was a tiny knitted soldier with angel wings - my Blip today.

Then a short walk along the canal to the aqueduct - my extra today - quite a sight and something new not often seen so long after the canal age!

After lunch in a coffee shop in Church Crookham we set off on a walk apparently leading to Caesar's Camp. We didn't find it, but arrived at a good viewpoint over the Surrey countryside.

On the way back we called in to see another nephew and his family, before returning to Hampton.  A good day out!

Quote  of the Day: 'I long for the countryside. That's where I get my calm and tranquillity - from being able to come and find a spot of green.' - Emilia Clarke.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.