KathyH58

By KathyH58

Eclipse

The only photo I got to take of any shadows caused by the solar eclipse this afternoon. It was only a partial eclipse here, it never got very dark. I ended up on the phone for 2 hours with Eastlink, my internet/cable tv provider.
I talked to tech support, he wasn't able to help me. So I asked to speak to a supervisor. We went thru the same routine that did not work the first time. He rebooted my system from his end, still nothing. So he decided that I would need a service call. He says the first one available is Monday, Apr 15 sometime between noon and 2 pm. I said that is not acceptable that I am working at that time of day, and that I wanted one here on Friday. He claimed that was the first one available in the system. My other option was to take the box back to the nearest store, and get another one, then call them to walk me thru hooking it up. I am not one of their techs and I pay enough money for cable, they can have someone come out here to do it. Next I asked to be transferred to customer service because I don't want to pay for a service that I cannot access for over a week. She was a little easier to deal with and says I will have a credit on my next bill. Then she transferred me to customer loyalty and I got my bill lowered by $60/month for the next year. That says how much they are overcharging people.
I had her transfer me back to tech support. I guess the supervisor didn't want to talk to me again because I was told there was no supervisor available after being on hold for several minutes. He said he would put in a request for a callback, I asked 'When?' and he could not give me an answer. So I hung up and called back a couple of minutes later. Told the tech I wanted to speak to a supervisor, and one came on the line a couple of minutes later. He said he would put in a request that the tech come on Friday and change the Monday appointment to after 3 pm, in case the tech could not get here on Friday. About a half hour later I had a call back from someone else, and he confirmed that my service call will be on Friday.
As a result of dealing with the idiots that answer the phones, I missed the whole eclipse, other than watching the shadows on the floor. And I can't even watch it on tv, because nothing works on my tv right now. My laptop screen is small for watching most videos.
I do hope that Eastlink sends me a survey to fill out as a result of my calls, but I doubt that they will this time.
Other than that, the day went well. It was sunny and the temperature this afternoon was +13 C. We started the spring cleanups this morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.