Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

A river of green flowing down to the sea......

Wet, wet, wet - again!
I went down to Stockbridge today in search of inspiration, we have both an anniversary and a significant birthday coming up in the family. I managed to find cards for both but nothing else.
Raeburn Place, the main street through Stockbridge has temp traffic lights at the moment. I came in from a side street with no traffic lights so had to judge my timing to enter the main road when there was a gap. Having sat through two sets of phases I finally managed to tag onto the tail of one direction before the other direction started. I got half way through only to see the first vehicle of the oncoming traffic, a double decker bus, pull out of his lane and start coming towards me. I had nowhere to go and in the end had to reverse the length of the main street. I did stop at one point and put my hand up towards him to say stay back, as he was practically pushing me along the street. When I finally managed to pull into the side he shrugged his shoulders at me and went past. I was appalled at such an unnecessary and aggressive manoeuvre. I always thought bus drivers were taught to drive defensively, it's certainly what I was taught when I drove our 16 seater minibus.
I wish I'd managed to catch his bus details as I would have reported him.
I crossed the bridge over the Water of Leith, the water was running high and fast, the north side of the river was almost up to the walkway while on the South side of the bridge poor Antony Gormley must have been feeling the chill as the water level rose. In the summer it's often barely up to his ankles.
The blip title comes from the description of the Water of Leith as a river of green through the city flowing down to the sea. Not so green today although admittedly the description refers to the aerial view of the trees and banks rather than the water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.