MidgeholeDave

By MidgeholeDave

Graveyard

Having stayed overnight at The Plough Inn we decided to return home via the leafy lanes of Cheshire.  This we did - in the pouring rain with many roads flooded.  It was most certainly not a day for exploring - however - I had an idea :-)   Hawarden is a village just south of Chester and was an important RAF base during WW2.  Its fame today is for the manufacture of wings for various Airbus aircraft.  I had also heard there were some old aircraft scattered about.  This was true.  They were all over the place - my collage Blip shows some of them.  I think many came to be dismantled/scrapped - and quite a few were Soviet aircraft.  Pity they were all behind some kind of barrier.
Mrs MD remarked that I knew how to treat a girl on a wet Wednesday in Cheshire - who am I to disagree ....... :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.